The university community joins together to give praise and thanks to those graduates who have demonstrated excellence during their years here.

The Thomas More Storke Award for Excellence

symbolized by a bronze medal forged by Francis Minturn Sedgwick, is given to the graduating senior who has demonstrated outstanding scholarship and extraordinary service to the university, its students, and the community. This year this distinction is awarded to:



Amelie Calderon ~



The Jeremy D. Friedman Memorial Award

is presented in grateful recognition of outstanding leadership, scholastic excellence, and innovative contribution to student and community life at the University of California, Santa Barbara, in memory of Jeremy D. Friedman, undergraduate 1979-83. This year's recipient is:

Marina Habib

Alyce Marita Whitted Memorial Award

This award, established in 1993, is presented to one non-traditional graduating senior who has demonstrated endurance, persistence, and courage in the face of extraordinary challenges while in pursuit of an academic degree. This year's recipient is:

Andrew J Smith



Yonie Harris Award for Civility in Public Discourse

is presented to graduates who best exemplify the principles of free speech and respectful dialogue and who foster a campus climate of civility and open-mindedness. This year's recipients is:

Angellina Monique Lugo Querol

Michael D. Young Engaged Scholar Award

This award recognizes the legacy of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Emeritus, Michael D. Young, particularly his commitment to empowering students toward principled leadership. It is awarded to students who have skillfully integrated their scholarly knowledge and/or values into action. This year's recipients are:

Sarah Margaron & Cierra Raine Sorin

University Award of Distinction

The following seniors and graduate students have been selected as recipients of this year's University Award of Distinction, given to students who have contributed greatly to the quality of life by giving unselfish service to others within a particular area.

Phoebe Joycelin Alva Samuel S. Blair **Chelsea Bohling** Mikayla Buhbe Abigail Carpenter Joshua Cenzano Yuriko Chavez

Walter Corngold Jane Fong Jwan Haddad Alexsia Johnson Sofia Kroll Grace Lockwood

Kylie Maeda Sabrina Marie Maldonado Daian Martinez Patricia Pang Esmé Fierer Puzio Genessis Gabriela Salcedo

Anastasia Lubuff Senavsky Lauren Elana Sung Kathryn Supple Julia Vargas Kurt Melvin Ventura Abby Welch Athena Yap

University Service Award

1

The following seniors and graduate students have been selected as recipients of this year's University Service Award, given in recognition of unselfish and dedicated service to the University, its students, and the community.

- **Caroline Baldan** Julianne D. Braime Casey Brown Samuel Armando Cervantes **Racheal Conley** Alexis Jade A. Crisostomo
- Hannah Delvalle Elizabeth Garabedian Annie Hargis Amir Iqbal Khan Lauren Kim

Rachel Yoon Seo Lim Zoha Lehrasab Malik **Richard Montes Lemus** Luna Moreno Sabrina Navarro Tapia Antoinette Obiefuna Isabella Ramirez Jonathan Roberts Andrea Toribio Tessa Ariel Veksler Iris Yuh

Vice Chancellor's Award for Scholarship, Leadership, and Citizenship

This award is presented annually to graduating seniors and graduate students who embrace the principles of scholarship, leadership, and citizenship – through activities that enhance UCSB's academic environment, contributions to a consequential project, or extraordinary service to the campus community.

~

Marlene Calderon Mary Heffelfinger Nicholas Hintze

Rebekah Maldonado Jordan Murray Jasmin Perez

Stephanie Raya Madison Urabe-Myers Francisco J Vega Jr

Ashley Kalishia Yeh Katie Zentgraf

Award winners, their families, & interested faculty & staff are invited to attend the Awards Ceremony on Friday, June 14, 2024 at 3:30pm in Corwin Pavilion.

7