The university community joins together to give praise and thanks to those graduates who have demonstrated excellence during their years here.

The Thomas More Storke Award for Excellence

symbolized by a bronze medal forged by Francis Minturn Sedgwick, is given to the graduating senior who has demonstrated outstanding scholarship and extraordinary service to the university, its students, and the community. This year this distinction is awarded to:



Cameran Bahnsen





The Jeremy D. Friedman Memorial Award

is presented in grateful recognition of outstanding leadership, scholastic excellence, and innovative contribution to student and community life at the University of California, Santa Barbara, in memory of Jeremy D. Friedman, undergraduate 1979-83. This year's recipient is:

Annika Katarina Sanchez



Alyce Marita Whitted Memorial Award

This award, established in 1993, is presented to one non-traditional graduating senior who has demonstrated endurance, persistence, and courage in the face of extraordinary challenges while in pursuit of an academic degree. This year's recipient is:



Yonie Harris Award for Civility in Public Discourse

is presented to graduates who best exemplify the principles of free speech and respectful dialogue and who foster a campus climate of civility and open-mindedness.

This year's recipients are:

Jamaal Muwwakkil & Gurleen Pabla



Michael D. Young Engaged Scholar Award

This award recognizes the legacy of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Emeritus, Michael D. Young, particularly his commitment to empowering students toward principled leadership. It is awarded to students who have skillfully integrated their scholarly knowledge and/or values into action. This year's recipient is:

Laura Pritschet



University Award of Distinction

The following seniors and graduate students have been selected as recipients of this year's University Award of Distinction, given to students who have contributed greatly to the quality of life by giving unselfish service to others within a particular area.

Stephanie Arguera Farahi Andy Barrera Rios Alex Castillo Xochitl S. Clare Levin Atticus Fetzer Rylee Gartside Ethan George Madison Heard Larry Huynh Aidan Manousos Kendall Martin Alex Mei

Adryanna Navarro Catherine Parker Emily Xiuhtecuhtli Perez Lillian Poe Vani Singhania Evann Smith Summer Spink Doris Wei Jennifer Yuri Yoshikoshi Michael Zargari Keren Zou

University Service Award

The following seniors and graduate students have been selected as recipients of this year's University Service Award, given in recognition of unselfish and dedicated service to the University, its students, and the community.

Clare Anne Agustin Adam Bagul Maria Castillejo Huanosta Emily Banh Duong Rachel Farnum Logan Greenough Anusikha Halder Vanessa Hill Avni Liana Joglekar Emily Kocis

Erik Magaña Callan Nowacki Ashley Pham Anabel Rocha Ambrosio Vanessa Sedano Ojeda Kaitlin Enedina Segovia Hailey Stankiewicz Nicholas Wrubel Zichun Yang

Vice Chancellor's Award for Scholarship, Leadership, and Citizenship

This award is presented annually to one or more graduating seniors and graduate students who embrace the principles of scholarship, leadership, and citizenship — through activities that enhance UCSB's academic environment, contributions to a consequential project, or extraordinary service to the campus community.

Nazrawi Allen Eliza Ann Garcia Daniel Huecias Kylah Jordan Sophie Kimura Krystalyn Cortez Llanes Love Tai-Thembi Maia Sean Tran Angela Carolina Valdez Junjie Ye Christian Zuniga Xiangying Zuo

Mortar Board Award

The Mortar Board Award is given each year in recognition of the graduating senior having the highest cumulative grade point average in the graduating class, combined with the fewest number of transfer units. This year's recipient will be announced at the ceremony.

Award winners, their families, & interested faculty & staff are invited to attend the Awards Ceremony on Friday, June 16, 2023 at 3:30pm in Corwin Pavilion.