The university community joins together to give praise and thanks to those graduates who have demonstrated excellence during their years here.

The Thomas More Storke Award for Excellence.

symbolized by a bronze medal forged by Francis Minturn Sedgwick, is given to the graduating senior who has demonstrated outstanding scholarship and extraordinary service to the university, its students, and the community. This year this distinction is awarded to:



Emily Elizabeth Lopez



The Jeremy D. Friedman Memorial Award

is presented in grateful recognition of outstanding leadership, scholastic excellence, and innovative contribution to student and community life at the University of California, Santa Barbara, in memory of Jeremy D. Friedman, undergraduate 1979-83. This year's recipient is

Michael Zargari



Alyce Marita Whitted Memorial Award

This award, established in 1993, is presented to one non-traditional graduating senior who has demonstrated endurance, persistence, and courage in the face of extraordinary challenges while in pursuit of an academic degree. This year's recipient is:

Hugh Darius David Cook



Yonie Harris Award for Civility in Public Discourse

is presented to graduates who best exemplify the principles of free speech and respectful dialogue and who foster a campus climate of civility and open-mindedness. This year's recipients are:

Vonnie Feng Wei



Michael D. Young Engaged Scholar Award

This award recognized the legacy of the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Emeritus, Michael D. Young, particularly his commitment to empowering students toward principled leadership. It is awarded to students who have skillfully integrated their scholarly knowledge and/or values into action. This year's recipient is:

Timnit Kefela & Ryan Flaco Rising



University Award of Distinction

The following seniors and graduate students have been selected as recipients of this year's University Award of Distinction, given to students who have contributed greatly to the quality of life by giving unselfish service to others within a particular area.

Casidy Chen Carlos Osvaldo Gomez Mallika Rajesh Gupta Valerie Htun Enaiya Simone Judkins Kim Kryshak

Sophia JeHong Lake Sofia Lyon Danielle McGary Jeddson King Mejorada Keily Vanessa Molina Marco Christian Muñoz

Sophia O'Hara ena Omar Lucas Parsons Victoria Bianca Perez Jon Stefan Pisocki

Alexander S. Proksch

Ashley Jean Rusch Nicholas Ryan Schierman Nyah Rae Castro Scott Jessica Simonson Komal Kumari Sood

Anya Sriram Katherine Viola Swartz Shannon Sweeney Ruiqi Yang Carly Young

7/5 **University Service Award**

The following seniors and graduate students have been selected as recipients of this year's University Service Award, given in recognition of unselfish and dedicated service to the University, its students, and the community.

Cecilia Armenta Jennisa Madelyn Casillas **Abigail Cervantes** Yuval Cohen Monica Cordova

Julieta Corral Phun Novia Dattatri Diana Aurelia Escamilla Celine Liu Haochen Long

Teannae Owens Cesar Alejandro Marquez Britney Jayleen Martinez-Zavala

Christopher Pantin Kathryn Kelly Quinones Jamileth Rodriguez Logan Ruggles

Jose Guadalupe Torres-Gonzalez Eliyana Van Doren Melissa Vinluan Alexis Xa

バ Vice Chancellor's Award for Scholarship, Leadership, and Citizenship

This award is presented annually to one or more graduating seniors and graduate students who embrace the principles of scholarship, leadership, and citizenship through activities that enhance UCSB's academic environment, contributions to a consequential project, or extraordinary service to the campus community.

> **Emily Irene Diaz** Lea Harley

Geovany Abimelec Lucero-Barahona Bailey Nicole McCraner

Stella Rufeisen Mina Santamaria

バ Mortar Board Award

The Mortar Board Award is given each year in recognition of the graduating senior having the highest cumulative grade point average in the graduating class, combined with the fewest number of transfer units. This year's recipient is to be announced at the ceremony.

Award winners, their families, & interested faculty & staff are invited to attend the Virtual University Awards Ceremony on Sunday, June 6, 2021 at 3:00pm.